As the decade of the 1930s progressed, the firm of architect Wyatt Hedrick continued to pack the hottest drafting pencil in the West.
Hedrick was turning a three-block stretch of Lancaster Avenue into a showcase of his firm’s artistry on a grand scale. His Texas and Pacific passenger terminal and Texas and Pacific freight terminal had opened in 1931. In 1933 his central post office would open. Inside and out, the post office would remain among the most photogenic buildings in town.
Planning for the ambitious project began in 1930. On November 19 Hedrick presented preliminary sketches to the Treasury Department’s supervising architect. (Front Street soon would be renamed “Lancaster Avenue” in honor of T&P president John L. Lancaster.) Clip is from the November 20 Dallas Morning News.
On January 25, 1931 Hedrick announced that construction bids on the $1.24 million ($17 million today) job would be advertised soon. Clip is from the January 26, 1931 Dallas Morning News.
On July 9, 1931 the Dallas Morning News reported that a construction contract had been awarded.
In February 1933 the Star-Telegram published a sneak preview of the new post office.
Two weeks later the public viewed the new post office, which replaced the facility in the 1896 federal building/post office on Jennings Avenue.
Some views of Wyatt Hedrick’s central post office:
For the post office Hedrick began with beaux arts and classical styles, . . .
but gave the building a Cowtown twist.
Table leg in the lobby.
Lamppost with the T&P freight terminal in the background.
Feet of a lamp post.
Feet of a lamp base in the lobby.
Ornamentation on an entrance.
It took a lot of shoe leather to wear these depressions in the marble floor in front of teller’s cages in the lobby.