For the first Sunday in May, some views of the old-school architecture of churches viewed against the backdrop of big blue boxes.
First Christian Church (Van Slyke, 1916).
Allen Chapel A.M.E. (1912).
First United Methodist Church.
Broadway Baptist Church (Hedrick, 1952).
Greater St. James Baptist Church (1918).
St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church (Sanguinet and Staats, 1912).
Fourth Street Methodist Church vestry (1887).
At Gethsemane Presbyterian Church on West Bluff Street, this mission-style stone porch of an earlier building (1943) stands as a reminder of the congregation’s past.
St. Patrick Cathedral (Kane, 1892).
St. Ignatius Academy (Kane, 1889) next to St. Patrick’s. In 1885 St. Patrick’s French-born Father Jean Marie Guyot asked the Belgian Sisters of St. Mary of Namur to come to Fort Worth to teach the parish children. The sisters opened St. Ignatius Academy as a boarding school for girls.