The upper corners of buildings are the meeting place for some of the most interesting details of architecture. Here are five more:
Ashton Hotel (Muller and Pollard, 1915). Originally the Fort Worth Club Building and home of Haltom’s Jewelers.
This unique little twelve-sided Romanesque building (1917) on West 10th Street is the wash water tank at the water treatment plant.
Burk Burnett Building (Sanguinet and Staats, 1914).
Central Post Office (Hedrick, 1933).
Oh, in days of yore there lived in this land masons who could place bricks on a wall like a composer places notes on a musical staff. And before there was Mrs. Baird, there was Mr. Doherty. And this building (1895) on South Main Street housed Walter J. Doherty’s Eagle Steam Bread Bakery.